skeelo221

Hello! Just moved to SD from Portland

Hello everyone,

Just wanted to introduce myself... I just moved down to San Diego from Portland, OR. 30 years old, mechanical engineer (looking for a job!). I just sold my house and quit my job and moved down with the fiancé to see what SD is all about.

I've been riding for about 12 years (started on the street -- been riding dirt & dual sport for the last 8 years, and picked up road racing on a Ninja 250 after doing track days for the last 7 years).

I enjoy camping off the bike, I've done OR & WA backroad discovery routes, with a plan to do the CO route shortly with my brother. Other moto highlights include:

-2 week solo tour of New Zealand in 2010 on a SV650

-trip with 5 friends down to Baja in 2011. We went as far as bay of conception / Loreto and then rented a house there for a few days before turning back. Was riding my DR650

-2 week solo trip last summer thru OR,WA,ID,Canada. Little over 3k miles on my Tuono.

-1 week at the Colin Edwards Texas Tornado Bootcamp this past February -- highly recommended!

-Just returned from a 1 week guided tour of Cambodia. Went with my brother and had tons of fun on our XR250 rentals.

I am also a major MotoGP fan. I download all the British coverage of the races since their coverage is so much better than ours. If anyone else is a MotoGP fan you are welcome to watch at my place.

I met a few of you last Sunday on the noob ride but am looking forward to doing a lot more exploring!

post-15943-0-50409400-1434674019_thumb.j

post-15943-0-30229600-1434674021_thumb.j

post-15943-0-18503400-1434674023_thumb.j

post-15943-0-80385100-1434674025_thumb.j

post-15943-0-16172800-1434674123_thumb.j

Welcome aboard, Jacob.

You've come to the right place. Lots of good info--and better yet, great people.

We'll see you out on the trails.

Dan

After watching Portlandia I think about doing the same thing you did, but in reverse.

Welcome to San Diego!