Roasty

San Diego Native, New to Adventure Riding

Salutations!

San Diego native here, currently living on the outskirts of Ocean Beach. I grew up riding dirt bikes (for a hobby). Had a motorcycle license by the age of 16. Since then I've owned 4 or so street bikes but it was mostly about commuting. Now I'm in my late 30s, recently married, and the proud owner of a 2013 mule (KLR). I needed an inexpensive bike for daily commuting that was also well suiting for adventure riding, especially to distant and foreign countries. My wife and I are total newbies to adventure riding but we're crazy excited about it and learning fast! We're taking our first 2-3 day (camping) ride here in San Diego this week and plan to do local rides at least once a month until summer comes. We're planning our first long ride this summer, 2-3 weeks from SD through Baja to Mazatlan. In the meantime, I'm working on familiarizing myself with aspects of the KLR, especially learning how to maintain and repair it. I have no previous experience working on bikes or cars but I'm a tinkerer at heart and mechanically inclined. My wife has adventurer's heart as well, although we'll be riding 2up for the first year, she already talking about getting her own bike someday soon.

We're glad to have found this community and are looking forward to joining in on some rides!

All the best!

Roasty

post-15597-0-57268500-1395620284_thumb.j

Welcome to the forum. Lots of expertise here on upgrading the KLR (Just not me!) :upsidedown:

Thanks for the welcome everyone!

No worries tvscum, I'm signed up a to couple KLR specific forums. ;)

Welcome to the group, nice looking KLR.

See you on the trail.

Good to see another "big bike" here. Plenty to be seen seated on one. Welcome aboard.

Ahem!!! A KLR is a mid-size bike, with small bike power and big bike weight!

(proud KLR rider)

Speaking of which: I'm ready for another n00b ride...i'll figure out a day, and post