SofaKing

New Guy from Carlsbad

Longtime lurker here. First off- I dig the positive vibe and civility found on this forum.

I’m a newb to dual sporting but have had bikes in the past. My previous bike was a dl650 vstrom. It was my DD, commuter, weekend canyon carver and adv camper /tourer. On it I explored many local fire roads and camping destinations in So. California.

I now have a DR650 which I’m still getting to know. I look forward to learning more about DS, local DS riding spots, going on rides with this cool community and learning about the Dr650 and other DS bikes.

Cheers, Nick

Welcome!

And speaking of civility, don't ride like BikeSlut.

Hey, Nick, screw your DR650! KTM is where it's at!

Just kidding, man. Welcome aboard. Lots of good ride info and good peeps here.

Your most civil riding pal,

Dan

Welcome!

And speaking of civility, don't ride like BikeSlut.

uncivil... behave yourself... Welcome Nick!

a DR650 will ride about 90% of the rides on this forum. I wouldn't take a stock one on certain trails, otherwise it is great fun.

I've been meaning to plan an all day SD county mid_size dual sport ride. Keep watching "informal rides"

as for the civility- any "uncivil" behavior you see is probably good natured ribbing. Antagonists don't really blend with the overall vibe around here; thanks for noticing

Sofa king nice to have you on the forum. Welcome aboard. B)

Welcome. Just sold my DR650 and wish I didn't, but I still have a lot of specialty tools and know the bike pretty well. If you ever need to fix the little things (NSU, etc) just shoot me a PM and we can work thru the bike together. I also have an extra stock seat and header for free if ya want 'em.

I had a WeeStrom in the past and the DR will be more dirt worthy as I'm sure you've found out.

The DR650 seems to be a great compromise bike......which is exactly what a dual sport should be.

Welcome to the group, see you on the trail.

Thanks for the warm welcome everybody!