wildwood

Hydraulic clutches for dualsport dirt bike purposes

I'm posing the question to our members vast motorcycle experience about the average life span of a hydraulic clutch for dualsport dirt bike purposes before major service is required.

I'm new to hydraulic clutches, and they seem great when they're working right, but once they begin to wear out it becomes a very inconsistent feel that fluctuates wildly between soft and normal. It's kind of a puzzling problem to troubleshoot. The one on my Husky TE310 has given up. Time for a repair/replace.

post-15028-0-84036300-1444689510_thumb.j

I've had to refill the Magura master reservoir for the forth time in about 1800 mi. of riding, refilling from bottom to push out any air. After servicing it felt good for a short time, then as time goes by sitting, you cycle the clutch lever and can notice it went softer. Riding it lately has the same result.

At the time the clutch really failed this last service, loosing the feeling of all back pressure, I had refilled the master reservoir and checked it, felt good. After 15 min. or so, soft mushy feel. Just checking things out, I adjusted the lever adjust screw in a bit farther than I ever had (but not totally maxed out) and after a couple pumps suddenly the lever went dead like there was no fluid in the system. The master res fluid level was down, but still had fluid above the intake. I'm thinking it's the slave unit because I haven't seen a lot of fluid up at the master and clutch lever area for what I've lost. Disassembly and inspection of both the master and slave units shows no obvious scoring or pitting on either bore. The seals have signs of wear under magnification, but no obvious cuts or cracks.

post-15028-0-94990100-1444689555_thumb.j