Afry

EVS neck roll to protect collarbone?

Looking for collarbone protection when flat track racing. Head on frontal impacts are not as common as mx so I'm not considering Leatt type neck brace.

Anyone have experience to share with the EVS type neck roll?

Keep in mind I will only be wearing it for 10 minutes at a time.

EVS has cheaper but functional looking versions for $40 and they go up to $160 for the high end models. This is getting close in price to a low end Leatt but sounds like the neck roll is better to protect the collarbone - think highside....

My wife wears an EVS R3 race collar and has had her fair share of highsides/head hits without a single broken collarbone, so that's a point in favor.

I personally wear the R4 and am pleased with it, but thankfully haven't really put it to the test.

I'm not a doctor, but it's my understanding a collarbone is broken by force traveling up the arm (bracing in a fall) towards the shoulder. The collarbone is a "circuit breaker" provided by evolution or nonspecifichigherpower of one's choice, to reduce the force on the neck.

A neck collar or Leatt would (should my theory be correct) not help at all.

That was some fun reading, one of the docs that was working on my shoulder mentioned that it only takes 7lbs of force applied just right to break a collar bone, that sounds ridiculously low, but I've done it 5 times somehow. Metal plate put an end to that at least on the left.

Arnie just get titanium plates put in both shoulders , proactive permanent highside damage proofing!

:)

It is my further understanding that collarbones are perfectly safe if the conveyance (say-a motorcycle) does not start.

Paul, Paul, Paul... :coolio:

...does not start...that's funny! but I did almost pull a groin muscle trying to kick that beast when not past tdc.