Goofy Footer

GoPro Video Tips and Tricks

As more of us are purchasing GoPros, Contours and other video equipment to record our rides, I thought we should have a Tips and Tricks thread for people to post questions. I am no pro and this is not The list.

Please contribute

My Four Basic Steps to Filming

1: Identify What You Want to Film

--------- Sounds simple (you want to film your ride) but how? Camera on top of head? Camera on chin? Camera on bike? Camera on somebody else?

2: Identify Who Your Audience Is

--------- Who are you making the video for? Its nearly 2012 and most people do not want to sit down and watch a 10 minute Point of View unedited video from some guy's ride.

--------- While I personally could watch myself do lap after lap at the MX track, most other people would find it boring.

--------- Are you making short clips for you to analyze your riding? Are you making a Ride Report for others to enjoy? SDAR or beyond?

--------- Identifying your audience will help guide the type of video you want to film

3: Film It

--------- What camera settings? Did you turn it on? Battery life, video card memory etc. How much footage do you take?

4: Edit the Footage

--------- Mac or PC? iMovie or Movie Maker? How long? Video cuts, transitions, music?

Camera Positions

Top of Helmet

post-14322-093038500 1321553866_thumb.jp

Pros:

Wide spectrum POV.

Good for scenery

Hopefully not as dusty

Cons:

Everybody does it

Helmet visor can get in the way

Hard to see the terrain at times

Hard to tell pick up movement of bike (jumping, woops etc)

Side of Helmet

post-14322-097438200 1321553861_thumb.jp

post-14322-086036900 1321553865_thumb.jp

Pros:

Can see trail

Can see side to side & up/down movement

Cons:

Lots of helmet in the shot

Cannot see the other 1/5th of the shot

Chin Mount

post-14322-057137100 1321553860_thumb.jp

Pros:

Good action POV

Can see terrain and handlebars

Cons:

Hard to set up and mount

May have to run camera upside down