Andy

Transitioning from street to dualsport, need clothing recommendations

Hi all,

What's a good jacket/glove/boots combination to pick up? I inagine I won't be doing full-on adventure trips just yet since I've got zero dualsport experience and need to spend a good amount of time buzzing along mild dirt roads and open fields to get my bearings on the new bike (previous experience is in crotch rockets), but I do need ideas on proper clothing. Obviously my head-to-toe leather stuff won't work too well once it's thoroughly covered in dirt, mud and grime.

I currently have the following that I'm thinking I can continue using while I learn:

Arai Quantum2 helmet (probably won't work too well with goggles, but possibly good for learning?)

Sidi track boots (they zip up the calf to protect all of the lower leg)

MotoGP leather gauntlet gloves (not well insulated, but plenty of hand protection)

What's a good jacket to get? Also, are jeans safe attire for the mild riding I'll be doing while I learn? Are there pads and/or padded gear that's good for a learner? Am I overthinking the whole thing? Not thinking enough? Thanks guys :rolleyes:

You will prefer pants with hip protection, and add knee protection also. The pants themselves are not that big a deal (I mean; you need SOME) as long as they accomodate your safety gear, and are comfortable enough with boots on...

We have gone through this before... let me try to find a link... be aware... for my first 25 years, I got by with work boots, leather jacket, jeans and cheap mountain bike armor... boots, gloves and helmets are must haves