klxguy

08 450 exc

I am not sure if the jetting is right on my bike. I have put about 5 tanks of gas through it and am getting only 60 miles to reserve with the stock tank. When warm the bike is hard to start it acts like it is flooded, needing full throttle to start. There also seems to be a bit of a lag when giving it the throttle. Could this be a jetting issue? I don't really want to pull the Carb if it could be something simple. I clean the air filter after every ride.

agree with Joliet... start with reading the plug... sounds rich, although there may be more to it than that

I have the same bike, and I get 90-110 miles on a full tank. Must be something wrong. Does sound like jetting to me, but I am no expert. RJ at All American did mine.

Jd jet kit, but dont go with the recommended blue needle in the kit...use the red needle that comes in the kit in the 5th clip position down from the top and i think it was a 45 pilot and a 172 main...i used the heaviest rubber o-ring on the linkage and the accelerator pump spacer mod in the kit and my bike ran crisp and clean. I ride fairly heavy throttle and have gotten 120 miles before needing reserve, but normally about 110 mi.

you cannot just change the jets and get it right, it requires a needle cahnge and the linkage mods....remeber it is a street legal bike and needed crazy stuff to get the bike to pass smog and requires crazy fixes to get it to run like an MX 450...but it will

kelly touched on what I was getting at... the bikes are lean from the factory, to meet emissions...so

"fatten it up", right? well... no... you just dump a bunch of fuel in to the carb, and it gets burnt up without providing power. The needles help determine how the power is delivered... o ring mods, etc. Even fairly docile bikes like DRZs and XRLs need these mods done to get it normal, and they are still nowhere near a 450 KTM power wise.

So; if the previous owner just put in a bigger main, he only is making a different issue.