Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
mctrails

New Utah state requirements for OHVs street legal or otherwise

Recommended Posts

Got this from a friend that found it on a RZR forum:

https://secured.utah.gov/utoutdoorrecdirectory/Forms/Edit/utoutdoorrecdirectory/44e377a4-4aea-441d-94d3-3b17d4bb8046/0

I hope the link works.

Basically you have to take an online education and safety course and get a certificate to operate an OHV (street legal or off-road only) off-road and on-road in the state of Utah starting this year.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The link wants me to log in to access the site.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No you don't have to log in.  I did it without logging in.  You do have to fill out the demographics part to get your certificate after completing the course.

And yes, from what I read it applies to all motorcycles including street legal (dual sport and ADV bikes) that are designed for off-road use.  Basically any motorbike that you are riding or can ride off-highway.  Also includes ATVs and SXSs (side by sides.)  Did not see that it applies to Jeeps, trucks, cars or other large vehicles. It kind of parallels the OHV permits ($25) sticker that is required for "all" OHVs used in Utah on public lands.

From what I can tell it is an off-highway drivers license only they are not calling it that.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

On ADVrider, someone called and spoke with a UT representative and supposedly street legal motorcycles don’t require this.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
18 hours ago, tntmo said:

On ADVrider, someone called and spoke with a UT representative and supposedly street legal motorcycles don’t require this.  

Apparently they lied.  I have not found anything that says motorcycles are exempt from this requirement and have seen a number of places where it says street legal off-highway motorcycles require it. If you are riding off-highway and get stoped it's likely you will get asked for your permit and checked for your Utah off-highway vehicle sticker. And apparently it does apply to Jeeps and other large vehicles (Type III OHVs).

It also says it is required for all nonresident OHVs operated on the street or highway in Utah which seems rather onerous. I don't think they will be checking every vehicle entering Utah but it is a requirement they can enforce if desired.

I'm not trying to get into an argument about this just passing along the new information.

Like all laws they only become important when you get stoped by law enforcement especially if you were doing something suspicious that makes them stop you.

Check this out for more information.

https://recreation.utah.gov/off-highway-vehicles/

Here is the Utah Code:

Effective 1/1/2023 
41-22-35.  Off-highway vehicle user fee -- Decal -- Agents -- Penalty for fraudulent issuance of decal -- Deposit and use of fee revenue. 

(1)
(a) Except as provided in Subsection (1)(b), any person owning or operating a nonresident off-highway vehicle who operates or gives another person permission to operate the nonresident off-highway vehicle on any public land, trail, street, or highway in this state shall:
(i) apply for an off-highway vehicle decal issued exclusively for an off-highway vehicle owned by a nonresident of the state;
(ii) pay an annual off-highway vehicle user fee;
(iii) provide evidence that the owner is a nonresident; and
(iv) provide evidence of completion of the safety course and program described in Section 41-22-35.
(b) The provisions of Subsection (1)(a) do not apply to an off-highway vehicle if the off-highway vehicle is:
(i) used exclusively as an off-highway implement of husbandry;
(ii) used exclusively for the purposes of a scheduled competitive event sponsored by a public or private entity or another event sponsored by a governmental entity under rules made by the division, after notifying the commission;
(iii) owned and operated by a state government agency and the operation of the off-highway vehicle within the boundaries of the state is within the course and scope of the duties of the agency;
(iv) used exclusively for the purpose of an off-highway vehicle manufacturer sponsored event within the state under rules made by the division; or
(v) operated as part of a sanctioned off-highway vehicle event or part of an official tour by a person licensed as a off-highway vehicle tour guide in this state.

(2) The off-highway vehicle user fee is $30.

(3) Upon compliance with the provisions of Subsection (1)(a), the nonresident shall:
(a) receive a nonresident off-highway vehicle user decal indicating compliance with the provisions of Subsection (1)(a); and
(b)

display the decal on the off-highway vehicle in accordance with rules made by the division.

 

 

As always, ride at your own risk.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Alan, it does seem to be controversial.

I've emailed the folks in Utah and will post back when I receive a reply- I got an auto-reply that they've been receiving a large volume of inquiries ;  )

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm really confused now.  It seems the requirements for the nonresident OHV sticker and the safety training permit might be different and may or may not be related.

So I don't really know what the heck is going on.  Disregard everything I have previously posted and try and figure it out for yourself.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×

Important Information