fester

Question about Long Loop Ride in Anza Borrego

I'm a new expert level rider to this forum but have been to AB for a long time (when you could ride up Coyote Canyon all the way to Anza). I'm looking to make a loop ride from Banner Store, down Rodriguez Canyon, slab to Pinyon Mountain Road, Fish Creek to Split Mountain, north on Old Mine Road to 78, slab to Ocotillo Wells (fuel up), Shell Reef, Cross Over Trail, Pumpkin Patch (Tule Wash), Arroyo Salado, Short Wash, up and back to Font's Point, Inspiration Wash to sand dunes (County Dump), slab to Borrego Springs (fuel up), slab up Montezuma Grade to Jasper Trail, J.T. to Yaqui Flat area, slab back to Banner Store.

I have never been down Rodriguez Canyon or Jasper Trail so I'm not familiar with these. Everywhere else I have been but I admit it has been at least 5-10 years.

My questions, have any of you done this loop? How long of a journey is this? Is too long of a journey in one day? Is GPS required for this ride or is my map from the Lowell Lindsay's book good enough? I do not have a GPS. Are there posted trail markers?

Any help anyone can provide is most helpful. Thanks!

Marc

How long of a journey is this? Is too long of a journey in one day? Is GPS required for this ride or is my map from the Lowell Lindsay's book good enough? I do not have a GPS. Are there posted trail markers?

Marc