Sign in to follow this  
Gbus Crisis

Allow myself to introduce . . . myself.

Hello All.

I'd been riding a few times as a kid (I have memories of riding on the gas tank of my uncle's motorcycle when I was about 5), I had a Yamaha XJ-550 when I was 19 to 22. It was a street bike with street tires and it never saw a proper registration sticker the entire time I owned it. I don't know how many miles I put on it but it was about equal time asphalt, dirt road and pasture. I think I oiled the chain twice. Needless to say that bike left me on the side of road more than once, but it was great fun and adventure. :D

I started riding legitimately and with a serious head about four years ago -- 10 years since I last saw the XJ-550. I bought a Honda Shadow Spirit 1100. I took the MSF BRC. I bought some basic, beginner gear. At first I just rode on the weekends. Then I started commuting. And then at some point, according to my girlfriend, I became obsessed. I upgraded my gear. I upgraded my bike (Yamaha FZ1!) and one day while surfing the internet I landed on ADVRider.com's Ride Reports and Pics, Pics, Pics forum. :blink:

Holy ----, brother! You can take motorcycles offroad -- and not just to ride on the sand dunes. You can actually ride to the middle of an unpaved nowhere! Cutting across a pasture is one thing, intentionally riding for days or weeks like that is madness! Where do I sign?! ^_^