piratemonkey

Any Easy Out experts?

I was changing the oil in the Husky and managed to overtighten a bolt on the oil filter cover. I was using a torque wrench but I must've read the wrong value out of the owner's manual. So now I've got a broken bolt that needs to come out.

I can go and buy myself an Easy Out kit and try to get the bolt out myself, but I've never used one before and have great concern that I will bung things up worse than they already are.

So anybody out there a) an Easy Out vet, B) kinda bored today, and c) wouldn't mind driving to the College Area to help a fellow rider? I would load the bike and take it to you, but I can only load my bike with motorized assistance (the S.O. is out of town). Or, I can bring the bike by this weekend when the S.O. is back.

Mille grazie.

is there any exposed bolt left? Is the break fairly clean? Do you have an easy out in the right size? what size bolt?

I haven't used one in years, but remember that bigger bolts were much easier than tiny ones... Do you have something to square up the broken bolt?

Unfortunately, none of the bolt is exposed and it's not a fat bolt. I figured if the bolt removal went awry at all there's always the Helicoil solution.

post-1009-1230849447_thumb.jpg

Not sure what's needed to square up the bolt.

Me and my dopey gorilla hands.

i have easy outs, but thats a long ass bolt. I can retap it maybe??

Unfortunately, none of the bolt is exposed and it's not a fat bolt. I figured if the bolt removal went awry at all there's always the Helicoil solution.

I don't think you'll find an easy out that is that long/skinny...

How much work would it be to remove the side case to get access to the broken part of the bolt? (I know - alot)

It also doesn't look like a very clean break - It'll be hard to drill the busted part without the bit walking into the threads on the case...

eeeewwwww... i doubt an easy out would reach down to where you need it... aren't they normally fairly tapered?