ECDave

sand trials and cookies

I have been enjoying ride reports on this forum for a couple of years now, and seeing that there is a need for new ride reports, I have decided to start doing some. I am sure it will be rides that most have taken so maybe seeing them from another perspective will be entertaining. A little background on me. I have owned a Yamaha Super Tenere for about 7 years now, wow time flies. I purchased it with the intent of torturing myself off road with it, just for the challenge. I fell into the commuting thing and never really went on many off road trips. I did all of the easy stuff-Bear Valley,Black Mountain,easy stuff incase I neeeded assistance since I didn't have any riding buddies.  I decided it was time to ride some sand to see how I will do. I have been riding skinny bikes in sand for about 35 years and feel that I am fairly capable with them. Now time for the 600 pounder.

My plan was to visit Blair Valley road as a member of SDAR recommended it as a good beginner to sand road. So off I go. I8 to Japatul, up to Julian and down Banner. All easy stuff except when I passed under the bridge at Japatul, a group of beemers was preparing to embatk on their ride. next thing I know, I am the unoficial leader of the group (in my own mind). not wanting to slow them down, i pushed a little harder than I normally would and made it to Julian in no time at all. After my new riding buddies blew past me on the lat straight away before town, I was back to riding solo. Thats fine, I was planning to ride alone anyway!  So down Banner to the north entrance to Blair Valley. ride1020-1.jpg.8da8ee37cdcb9d7d5357c636da38fce1.jpg